SUSTAINABILITY

Shape a brighter future. Every day.

What is sustainable development and why is it important to BIL?

The concept of sustainable development was defined by the Brundtland Commission in 1987. This definition is as follows: “Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

With this in mind, Banque Internationale à Luxembourg aims to hand over a responsible and sustainable bank to future generations. The bank understands the importance of integrating Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) criteria into its fundamental goals and engaging all its stakeholders in this process. This is not simply a question of regulatory compliance but a conviction that BIL is asserting to develop its processes and thus generate a positive impact on its ecosystem. As a financial intermediary at the heart of the economy, BIL has the capacity to direct capital flows towards sustainable activities. BIL is aware of its responsibility in this regard and offers its clients products with a positive impact.

Alessandra Simonelli

Head of Sustainable Development

“We are an international bank that provides strong support to the local economy and communities. We are engaging with our employees to facilitate the transition to sustainable banking, conscious of our responsibilities and keen to develop products that allow us, together with our clients, to have a positive impact and build solid foundations for future generations.”

What the BIL group ESG strategy aims to achieve

As a major player in Luxembourg’s finance industry, Banque Internationale à Luxembourg is committed to building a sustainable and balanced economy. In 2021, the bank defined a sustainability strategy based on four pillars:

As a signatory to the UNEP FI (United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative) Principles for Responsible Banking and to the principles of the UN Global Compact, BIL is committed to working towards the goals of the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. These goals address global environmental and social challenges and coordinate a collective plan to promote peace and prosperity while safeguarding the planet.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Although the 17 Sustainable Development Goals form a coherent whole and are all interlinked, BIL has decided to focus its impact on nine priority SDGs at corporate level, each linked to one of its four strategic pillars.

SUSTAINABILITY

Shape a brighter future. Every day.

Qu’est ce que le développement durable et pourquoi est-il important pour la BIL?

La notion de développement durable a été définie par la commission Brundtland en 1987. Cette définition est la suivante : « Un développement qui répond aux besoins de la génération actuelle sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures à répondre à leurs propres besoins. »

Dans cette optique la Banque Internationale à Luxembourg aspire à transmettre aux générations futures une banque responsable et durable. Pour la Banque Internationale à Luxembourg, il est important d’intégrer dans ses objectifs fondamentaux les aspects Environnemental, Sociétal et Gouvernance (ESG) et d’engager toutes ses parties prenantes dans la transition vers le développement durable. Il ne s’agit pas d’une simple conformité réglementaire mais bien conviction que la banque BIL affirme pour faire évoluer ses process afin de favoriser un impact positif sur son écosystème. En tant qu'intermédiaire financier au cœur de l'économie, la BIL a la capacité d'orienter les flux de capitaux vers des activités durables. Ainsi consciente de sa responsabilité, la BIL propose à ses clients des produits ayant un impact positif.

Alessandra Simonelli

Head of Sustainable Development

« Nous sommes une banque internationale qui soutient fortement l'économie et les communautés locales. Nous nous engageons avec nos employés à faire la transition vers une banque durable, conscients de notre responsabilité et désireux de développer des produits qui nous permettent, avec nos clients, d'avoir un impact positif et de préparer des bases saines pour les générations futures. »

L’ambition développement durable du groupe BIL

Acteur majeur de la place financière luxembourgeoise, la Banque Internationale à Luxembourg s’engage pour la construction d'une économie durable. En 2021, la banque a défini sa stratégie de durabilité en 4 piliers :

En signant les « Principles for Responsible Banking » de l’UNEP FI (United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative), et en adhérant aux principes UN Global Compact, la BIL s’engage à contribuer aux objectifs de développement durable de l’Agenda 2030 des Nations Unies. Ces objectifs répondent aux défis sociaux et environnementaux mondiaux et coordonnent un plan commun destiné à promouvoir la paix et la prospérité tout en protégeant la planète.

Les Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD)

Bien que les 17 objectifs de développement durable forment un ensemble cohérent et sont tous liés entre eux, la BIL a décidé de concentrer son impact sur neuf ODD prioritaires au niveau de l'entreprise, chacun étant lié à l'un de ses quatre piliers stratégiques.